top of page

2020 WV Supreme Court Elections

West Virginia Supreme Court justices are elected in nonpartisan elections.  These elections are held during the West Virginia Primary.  Each seat on the ballot is its own division.  Since three seats are on the primary ballot, there are three divisions.  You will vote for one candidate in each division.

How to Evaluate Judicial Candidates

All West Virginia Supreme Court candidates were invited to complete an online questionnaire.  The information provided is unedited.

Division 1 (Full, 12-year term)
Tim Armstead
David Hummel Jr.
Richard Neely


Division 2 (Full, 12-year term)
Jim Douglas
Kristina “Kris” Raynes
Joanna I. Tabit
William R. “Bill” Wooton


Division 3 (Unexpired term)
Lora A. Dyer
John A. Hutchison
Bill Schwartz


bottom of page